MANOU GALLO

MANOU GALLO

Manou Gallo returns to us with a unique and very personal project.

 

ALISO, his 5th album is in 2 parts, 2 LPs of 5 titles each, the release of which spans 2 periods: autumn 2021 and spring 2022

In this new project, Manou Gallo pays tribute to the artists who inspired her, Féla Kuti, Manu Dibango, Franco, Ernesto Djé Djé, Marcellin Yacé.

She also surrounds herself for the occasion with her 2 “brother-bassists” Christian Mc Bride and Etienne Mbappè on original compositions.

 

"Lady" whose digital release is scheduled for 12.06.21 is the 1st single from the 1st LP.

LADIES...

How dangerous it is to revitalize a universal classic immortalized, moreover, by an undeniable African icon! Manou Gallo brilliantly takes up this challenge by judiciously tweaking one of the hymns of the Nigerian singer and saxophonist Fela Anikulapo Kuti. "Lady", recorded 50 years ago for the album "Shakara", is a thrilling work whose civic dimension is suddenly reflected with force in this new interpretation.t future and constancy, Manou Gallo his queen!

 

The admirable Ivorian bass player thus celebrates the assertive momentum of the female sex half a century after the scathing words and agitated notes of his illustrious elder. “The afro-groove queen” lives in the present and hears the protest slogans of her sisters engaged in a crusade for equality and parity. Shaking up consciences is a formidable challenge when the social climate becomes tense and when minds become radicalized. Music is then perhaps a shimmering form of diplomacy that Manou Gallo masters to perfection to gently tilt strong convictions, fixed ideas, erroneous assertions.

 

“I am proud to be both an African woman with a constant respect for traditions, while advocating a certain modernism through African music or rock jazz blouse Afrobeat and funk have all their places. I am free with the music and thanks to it, I can imagine everything and travel everywhere”.

 

In 1997, upon her arrival in Europe, she became the bassist of Zap Mama, Marie Daulne's group, and thus performed on the biggest European and American stages.

Since 2003, she has led her own groups and participated in many other projects (Manou Gallo Women Band, Groove Orchestra, Acoustic Africa and Music Machine).

 

Through her stage presence and her incredible technique, she has become one of the leading women of this innovative Afro-European music that is appreciated all over the world.

MANOU GALLO

MANOU GALLO

Manou Gallo nous revient avec un projet inédit et très personnel.

 

ALISO, son 5eme album est en 2 parties, 2 LP de 5 titres chacun,dont la sortie s’étend sur 2 périodes : automne 2021 et printemps 2022

Dans ce nouveau projet, Manou Gallo rend hommage aux artistes qui l’ont inspirée, Féla Kuti, Manu Dibango, Franco, Ernesto Djé Djé, Marcellin Yacé.

Elle s’entoure aussi pour l’occasion, de ses 2 «frères-bassistes» Christian Mc Bride et Etienne Mbappè sur des compositions originales.

 

«Lady» dont la sortie sortie digitale est prévue le 12.06.21 est le 1er single du 1er LP.

LADY...

Qu’il est périlleux de revitaliser un classique universel immortalisé, de surcroît, par une incontestable icône africaine ! Manou Gallo relève brillamment ce défi en triturant judicieusement l’un des hymnes du chanteur et saxophoniste nigérian Fela Anikulapo Kuti. « Lady », enregistrée il y a 50 ans pour l’album « Shakara », est une œuvre palpitante dont la dimension citoyenne rejaillit subitement avec force dans cette nouvelle interprétation.t l’avenir et la constance, Manou Gallo sa reine !

 

L’admirable bassiste ivoirienne célèbre ainsi l’élan revendicateur de la gente féminine un demi-siècle après les mots cinglants et les notes agitées de son illustre aîné. « L’afro-groove queen » vit au présent et entend les slogans contestataires de ses consœurs engagées dans une croisade pour l’égalité et la parité. Bousculer les consciences est un enjeu redoutable quand le climat social se tend et quand les esprits se radicalisent. La musique est alors peut-être une forme de diplomatie chatoyante que Manou Gallo maîtrise à la perfection pour incliner en douceur les convictions tranchées, les idées arrêtées, les affirmations erronées.

 

« Je suis fière d’être à la fois une femme africaine ayant un respect constant des traditions, tout en prônant un certain modernisme à travers la musique africaine ou le rock jazz blouse Afrobeat et le funk ont toutes leurs places. Je suis libre avec la musique et grâce à elle, je peux tout imaginer et voyager par- tout».

 

En 1997, à son arrivée en Europe, elle devient la bassiste de Zap Mama, le groupe de Marie Daulne, et se produit ainsi sur les plus grandes scènes européennes et américaines.

Depuis 2003, elle dirige ses propres groupes et participe à de nombreux autres projets (Manou Gallo Women Band, Groove Orchestra, Acoustic Africa et Music Machine).

 

Par sa présence scénique et son incroyable technique, elle est devenue l’une des femmes leader de cette musique afro-européenne innovante et appréciée dans le monde entier.