Logo Darc

EKSON Larrio

EKSON Larrio

Contemporary dance

Dancer-Star, Pedagogue and Choreographer.

In the world of dance, Larrio Ekson is a major figure.

He marked the history of contemporary dance for having been the mythical partner of the Carlson years, both at the Opéra National de Paris and at the Fenice de Venise. He has performed with the greatest choreographers, Maurice Béjart, Carolyn Carlson, Robert Cohen, Luis Falco, Paul Taylor, Frederik Ashton, May O'Donnell, James Warring or Jiri Killian etc…

He taught at the Opéra National de Paris and at the École de danse, as well as at the Académie du Spectacle Équestre de BARTABAS at the Château de Versailles and at the main national and international workshops.

In May 2007, Carolyn Carlson commissioned him a ballet for his 13 dancers of the Choreographic Centre of Roubaix, he was one of the main performers of the show «Les Juments de la nuit» that Bartabas gave together with Zingarro and the Academy as part of the Château de Versailles festival in September 2008. He played at the Opéra de Toulon in the musical «Folies» by Stephen Sondhiem.

Larrio Ekson was elevated to the rank of “Commander of Arts and Letters”. On March 25, 2016, the inauguration of the «l'Espace Larrio Ekson» room at the Théâtre de l'Échappée in Laval took place by Claudine Orvain and François Bechu.

 

He was an actor in a play, "Andromaque" by Racine, directed by Anne Delbée in June and October 2018, at Versailles. He also participated in a film by Carolyn Carlson and a short film about him by Maxime Gralet.

He inaugurated a new dance studio called «Studio Larrio» in Maria Grazie Sulpizi’s main studio in Genes, Italy.

He participated in the short film «Dancers Over 50» directed by Jameson Pepper and Artistic Direction by Raffaella Mattioli.

He also participated in the Rebekah Harkness documentary “An American Ballet Story – A Kid From Harlem Goes To Paris” by Leslie Streit and Robin E.Mccain.

A second book entitled “Larrio Ekson – L'Envol de L'Aigle” recounting his life as well as his career as a recognized actor and dancer was released in early May 2019 – Author Claude Alain Planchon, Publisher Jacques Flament.

 

(www.jacquesflamenteditions.com)

A dance studio at the MJC of Neuilly bears the name of Larrio Ekson.

He is accompanied by Paki ZENNARO.

Logo Darc

EKSON Larrio

EKSON Larrio

Danse contemporaine

Danseur-Étoile, Pédagogue et Chorégraphe.

Dans le monde de la danse, Larrio Ekson est un personnage majeur.

Il aura marqué l’histoire de la danse contemporaine pour avoir été le partenaire mythique des années Carlson, tant à l’Opéra National de Paris qu’à la Fenice de Venise. Il a été l’interprète des plus grands chorégraphes, Maurice Béjart, Carolyn Carlson, Robert Cohen, Luis Falco, Paul Taylor, Frederik Ashton, May O’Donnell, James Warring ou Jiri Killian etc…

Il a enseigné à l’Opéra National de Paris et à l’École de danse, ainsi qu’à l’Académie du Spectacle Équestre de BARTABAS au Château de Versailles et dans les principaux stages aussi bien nationaux qu’internationaux.

En Mai 2007, Carolyn Carlson lui a commandé un ballet pour ses 13 danseurs du Centre Chorégraphique de Roubaix, il a été l’un des principaux interprètes du spectacle « Les Juments de la nuit » que Bartabas a donné en compagnie de Zingarro et de l’Académie dans le cadre du festival du Château de Versailles en septembre 2008. Il a joué à l’Opéra de Toulon dans la comédie musicale « Folies » de Stephen Sondhiem.

Larrio Ekson a été élevé au grade de « Commandeur des Arts et Lettres ». Le 25 mars 2016 a eu lieu l’inauguration de la salle « l’Espace Larrio Ekson » au Théâtre de l’Échappée à Laval, par Claudine Orvain et François Bechu.

Il a été acteur dans une pièce de théâtre, "Andromaque" de Racine, dirigée par Anne Delbée en juin et octobre 2018, à Versailles. Il a participé également à un film de Carolyn Carlson et à un court-métrage sur lui de Maxime Gralet.

Il inaugure un nouveau studio de danse intitulé « Studio Larrio » dans le studio principal de Maria Grazie Sulpizi à Genes en Italie.

Il participe au court-métrage « Dancers Over 50 » réalisé par Jameson Pepper et Direction Artistique par Raffaella Mattioli.
Il participe également au film documentaire sur Rebekah Harkness « An American Ballet Story – A Kid From Harlem Goes To Paris » de Leslie Streit et Robin E.Mccain.

Un deuxième livre intitulé « Larrio Ekson – L’Envol de L’Aigle » retraçant sa vie ainsi que sa carrière d’acteur et danseur reconnu sortira début mai 2019 – Éditeur Jacques Flament.
(www.jacquesflamenteditions.com
)

 

Il est accompagné par Paki ZENNARO.